Bustamante Crowned at Derby City Classic

February 3, 2013

Bustamante Crowned at Derby City Classic

alex francisco Bustamante Crowned at Derby City Classic

Alex Pagulayan and Francisco Bustamante clean up at the final day of the 2013 Derby City Classic.

The Straight Pool Challenge was down to three players from the eight that had qualified. The event consisted of eight players with the highest ball runs competing in a single elimination, race to 100. Dennis Orcollo had secured the first seat in the finals by defeating Stuart Pettman on Friday night. The remaining final was delayed on Saturday with Niels Feijen still competing deep into the 9 Ball. Around 4 PM Niels was eliminated from the 9 ball and ready to face Max Eberle in the other Semi-Final. Niels took an early 64 to 7 lead with an early 50 ball run. Max would make some smaller runs and play safe until he passed Neil’s stalled at 7 to win 100 to 97. After a short break Max and Dennis started the finals but the match didn’t last long with Max winning 100 to 54. Congratulations to Max Eberle the DCC 2013 Straight Pool Champion.

The reaming main event, 9 Ball, started the day with 12 players. The final three going into finals were Mike Dechaine, Alex Pagulayan and Shawn Putnam. All three were on one loss and with the draw Shawn Putnam, the last person to use their re-buy, got the bye and a pass to the finals. The semi-final match between Mike Dechaine and Alex Pagulayan looked like it was all Mike. But Alex as always showed a lot of heart to get the match to hill – hill. The final rack has some fortunate and unfortunate rolls with Alex moving own to the final and Mike would finish third. The finals match between Alex and Shawn was seesaw battle, tied at 2-2, 4-4 and 5-5. But Alex moved ahead and Shawn only won one more game before going out in second 9 to 6. Congratulations to Alex Pagulayan the 2013 Derby City 9 Ball Champion.

A recap of the winners of the major events:
9-Ball Banks – Francisco Bustamante
One Pocket- Corey Deuel
9 Ball – Alex Pagulayan
Master of the Table – Francisco Bustamante (based on finish in 9-Ball Banks, One Pocket and 9 Ball)
“Big Foot” Ten Ball – Dennis Orcollo
Straight Pool Challenge – Max Eberle

Read more ...

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,